I’m a crazy cat lady now
July 30, 2010, 1:39 pm
Filed under: daily, Photo

A few minutes ago, the kitten and I had a bit of a photo shoot.

I haven’t said much here about Dora. We adopted her a few weeks ago when she and I became friends at my bus stop one morning.

After a few days of seeing her every morning and evening around the bus stop, I took the car down and threw her in the back seat. You might say it was a catnapping.

In the few weeks since she’s been here we’ve learned just how much poo cats make; how to install a cat door; just how much cats are capable of sleeping; and just how hilarious it is when a cat embarrasses herself and tries to play it off like she totally meant to do that, thankyouverymuchstoplaughingatmejerks.

She’s turned into a gorgeous creature. And crap! She knows it, too.

By the way, getting a ‘free’ street kitten is not as cheap as it sounds. We had to pay the brunt of the costs of getting her vaccinated and treated for intestinal parasites. We had no way of knowing if anyone has ever done that for her, or if she’s ever had a home. She’s super friendly (with me at least, not so much with strangers, or men, or … anyone, really), so surely she’s had contact with humans before in a good way. We also had to get her fixed because she was in heat and DAYUM did that turn her into a bitch. And more importantly, I don’t want kittens. From a kitten. No thank you.

Two days after we got her girly-bits removed, she decided to pull out her stitches. I went to pick her up to check on her belly before I left work and HELLO INTESTINES! Kevin had to fly home from work after just getting there so we could take her to the vet to have her parts put back inside and then she got a CONE OF SHAME. It was hilarious. The cone of shame, that is. The intestines were gross.

This is the first cat we’ve owned. We both come from dog people, with relatives who are allergic. We’re both kind of allergic but can get over it with a little Claritin and extended exposure. I was nervous about it, to begin with, especially when the expenses added up big time and then when I saw intestines.

But now that we’re all settled, and she’s mostly stopped trying to escape, and no longer has stitches to yank out, I’m glad we kept her. It warms the cockles of my heart to take in a sad, homeless creature, even if it mean stepping out of my comfort zone. She’s turned into a beautiful cat, and while she sometimes tricks visitors into petting her and then attacks their hands with all 5 pointy ends, I think she’s become a nice part of our little family.

And when I look at the above picture of her, from the day we brought her home, I’m so glad we gave her the opportunity to grow her hair back in and take up residence in our house. No one should be forced to live with a head that tiny if they can help it.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

That? Is what I like to call Beetlejuice Head. I kinda love it, although she is WAY more gorgeous all grown out.

Comment by Burgh Baby




Leave a Reply

