Morning Digest
October 15, 2008, 8:19 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Early this morning, the dear sweet animal woke me up at 4 AM and 5 AM, on the dot. She licked my face, wanted to snuggle. Bear took her out at 4 to pee, but I suspect she just wanted to make out. At 5 AM, when I got another wet swipe on the lips, we hollered at her to LAY DOWN and GO TO SLEEP.

She did.

Unfortunately, she chose to not continue the hourly wake up kiss at 6 AM, the normal and appropriate hour for wakefulness. Bear forgot to set his alarm clock, so we three blissfully slept straight through till 7:35 AM, when my mama called for an early morning chitchat.

The phone rang, blasting me out of sleep, and I thought “WHO THE HELL IS CALLING BEFORE 6AM! MY MOM. OH CRAP, GRANDMA DIED. GOOD THING I DON’T HAVE HOMEWORK THIS WEEKEND.”

I can only think in ALL CAPS while still half (three quarters) asleep. Also, I base my reaction to the impending news of my Grandma’s death on my amount of homework.

I am a terrible granddaughter.

She’s still alive, as far as I know. Mom just wanted someone to entertain her on her way to work. I managed to get dressed, eat breakfast, pack my things, feed the dog and caffeinate myself ALL WHILE ON THE PHONE with her, without letting her in on the dirty little secret that she’s the one who jump-started the household this morning.

Wouldn’t want her to think we’re lazy, or irresponsible or anything.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

