Reading Is Sexy
September 3, 2008, 12:21 pm
Filed under: Current Events, daily | Tags: , ,

I have nothing to say about Sarah Palin that hasn’t already been said except for this: thank the Lord someone else is totally rocking the librarian glasses chic. I needed someone else to start the trend outside of:

1. Libraries.

2. Hipster culture.

3. Hipster librarians.

Now, I have a VP candidate! Rock on. Any thoughts beyond that would be superfluous, because I refuse to honor the insanity that is left-wing bloggers and under(read)graduates by saying anything at all. Go librarian glasses!

Speaking of librarian glasses and hipsters, I am such a loser in library school. Other than the older women who are coming into libraries as a professional change, I am the squarest of the squarely squares in my classes. I wear skirts too much, I have a thing for pearls and other pretty jewelry, my nails are pink or red or unpainted, and I tend to match. If I don’t match, it’s usually an accident. My hair is a boring bob, parted on the left side, no bangs or frills or dye. I rarely even wear makeup, and when I do, I try to look like I am NOT wearing make up.

SQUARE.

But, as The Illustrious New York Times reported, libraries are hipster chic. And they are usually super liberal. And they are usually super liberal activists. And they are usually wayyyy cooler than I’ll ever be.

The article states:

“When I was in library school in the early ’80s, the students weren’t as interesting,” Mr. Block said.

Since then, however, library organizations have been trying to recruit a more diverse group of students and to mentor younger members of the profession.

“I think we’re getting more progressive and hipper,” said Carrie Ansell, a 28-year-old law librarian in Washington.”

So. Progressive equals hip and interesting. Conservative equals unhip and boring.

Well, I’m not going to lie. I actually laughed out loud when I saw the crowd shots at the Republican convention. Lots of vaguely overweight, very white, mostly bald men! The stereotypes are so true it’s hilarious.

But hey! I have a blog! That’s so in! I am one step closer to being an IN LIBRARIAN!

In other news, my uterus is still vacant. I took my first pregnancy test the other day. The hospital issued ones come with no directions. It was confusing. I managed to screw up the first one by peeing on the wrong end of the stick. And it’s literally JUST a stick. No markings, no nothing. So I peed in the little cup the study gave me and just stuck a 2nd little stick in there.

Regardless: only one pink line! I win! Although, not quite, because I managed to screw up peeing on a freaking stick.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

