A Weekend of Discoveries
June 2, 2008, 10:50 am
Filed under: Pittsburgh | Tags: , ,

This weekend was a fruitful one. I feel morally obligated to share my finds with all of you.

1. Mekong Restaurant: Potomac Ave, Dormont. Bear and I decided we didn’t feel like cooking on Friday night, so we wandered around Dormont until we found something appetizing. What we found was Mekong restaurant. It is a small, hole-in-the-wall Chinese place that does not advertise. They have, hands-down the greatest Chinese food I have ever had. Recognizable chicken in my lemon chicken, whole shrimp in the spring roll, lots of pork in the won-ton soup. I didn’t feel as though I was drowning in salt and grease. Everything tasted fresh. They say that “Mom” (the old Chinese lady who runs the place and cooks the food) makes each dish individually, so you can make requests and know that they will be honored. Because of this, vegans and vegetarians are big fans of the place. I highly recommend it.

2. Did you know that hell is in Pittsburgh? Well, not quite in Pittsburgh. Halfway between the city and the airport is a place called Robinson Towne Center. It is the center of hell. If you go there, it sucks huge chunks of your time and gas that you never see again. You can see where you want to go, but they make it impossible to get there, so you drive around in circles for eternity. And you end up not buying what you came for because you couldn’t figure out how to get there. You want to go to Wal-Mart? TOO BAD. HERE IS A JOANN’S FABRIC AND A RED LOBSTER. HELL, I tell you. I am going to start calling it Robinson Towne Center of Hell.

Because I hate it so much, I wanted to find another Wal-Mart that doesn’t involve going to hell. Now, I’m sure many people consider Wal-Mart itself to be Hell, but whatever. Sometimes you need a cheap standing fan because you live in the 3rd floor of a non airconditioned house, and sleep next to a boyfriend who suspiciously resembles a furnace. Hence, I needed to go to Wal-Mart.

So I used google! And google is my friend because it told me that there is a Wal-Mart that is even closer to Dormont, that doesn’t involve going to hell! It is in Bethel Park! So we went there, and I bought a stand fan and a basil plant and some tomato fertilizer and all was right in the world.

We also discovered a Shop’N’Save next door to the Wal-Mart, for the times we need something totally crazy and bizarre (LIKE SOY SAUCE!) that our walkable Kuhn’s doesn’t have, but don’t feel like paying through the nose at Gian’ Iggle.

SUCCESS. LIFE IS SWEET.

3. And just when I thought life couldn’t get any more sweet and successful, we drove passed an unfinished furniture store! Vitte’s! I KNOW! I LOVE UNFINISHED FURNITURE, TOO! Actually, I bet you’re wondering why the hell I would want unfinished furniture. Isn’t the whole point of buying furniture is having furniture that is complete and usable? Not so much. It’s cheaper and usually of higher quality if you get it whole, minus sanding and staining. Then you can stain it to your exact preferred color, and all is right in the world.

We’ll be making our FIRST FURNITURE PURCHASE together sometime this week: a pair of rubberwood night stands. Bear will then sand and stain them and voila! We will have a place to put our books and lamps and glasses that isn’t just a pile on the floor!

Unfortunately, once we have nightstands, we will have to go get lampshades for the free lamps we got from Bear’s parents. They are Ikea lamps. That means we will have to go to Ikea.

Which is in Robinson Towne Center of Hell.

Sigh.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

