Musings
May 23, 2008, 4:21 pm
Filed under: Pittsburgh | Tags: , ,
“Police officer fatally shoots man in Oakland
Friday, May 23, 2008

A man was fatally shot this afternoon in Oakland by a Pittsburgh police officer who was apparently responding to a dispute between a landlord and a tenant armed with a large knife.

The shooting occurred around 3:10 p.m. at Bates and Atwood streets, near the Mad Mex restaurant.

Witnesses said they saw a landlord run from a building on Atwood Street and yell “Help me.” He was followed by a man, supposedly a tenant, who was holding a knife or meat cleaver over his head.

The officer arrived and told the man repeatedly to drop the knife, witnesses said, but the man did not and the officer shot him in the chest.

Police have not provided details to reporters. Mayor Luke Ravenstahl was at the scene late this afternoon,”

1. I’m glad I don’t live in Oakland anymore.

2. I can’t blame the guy for wanting to attack his landlord in Oakland. Surely you’ve seen this. I would argue that most of the slumlords in the area would be well served with the occasional meat cleaver chase. (My apartment in Oakland was very nice. I got lucky.)

3. I’m still glad I don’t live in Oakland anymore.

4. It’s a shame that a dispute with a landlord ended with a death.

5. I just realized I put on my underwear inside-out today. I hate it when I do that.

Happy Memorial Day, yinz all!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

