Nothing like getting smacked in the head by Randy Pausch
May 21, 2008, 5:53 pm
Filed under: Books, Library | Tags: , , , ,

Remember Randy Pausch? Of course you do. He’s Pittsburgh’s inspiration: how to raise your children well so they’re happy, how to be happy in your own life, how to live despite dying.

He hit me in the head today.

Ok, maybe that’s not entirely accurate.

I was shelving hold books (requests, etc) this afternoon. I put one on an upper shelf, bent over to get another one, and felt a sharp pain in the back of my head. A small book clattered to the floor. Randy Pausch’s The Last Lecture. I’ve been meaning to find that! And read it! Because I need another reason to cry (imagining what it would be like if one of my hypothetical children died in a fiery car accident OBVIOUSLY ISN’T ENOUGH). Also, I thought it would be a good read. And a good cry.

This ought to be the moment where I say that THE PERFECT BOOK found me by FALLING FROM THE SKY.

But it’s not. It was on hold for someone who recalled it from someone else. Meaning I can’t check it out to myself because that person HAS IT RESERVED.

Jerkface.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

