Conversation with my father
April 23, 2008, 8:44 am
Filed under: daily | Tags: ,

Dad: Hello! I answered the phone!

Katrina: Uh.. good?…. I just had my very last actual obligation of my undergraduate career!

Dad: Good for you!

Katrina: Yup. So now I’m done, other than the move of hell.

Dad: Alright! You know, I’m really proud of you. You’ve done really well out there.

Katrina: Thanks.

Dad: And you know, I don’t compliment either of my children much at all.

Katrina: I know. You’re much more inclined to tell me I look like hell when I wake up, or that I look like I’m losing weight, or that I’m exceptionally pale today.

Dad: Well, you DO look like hell in the morning. And you do look like you’re losing weight. And you are exceptionally pale.

Katrina: Dad, if I lost weight every time I saw you, I wouldn’t exist anymore. And if I was getting paler, I would be translucent by now. I think you just think I’m a chubby Italian when I’m not around.

(Really, my dad announces that he answered the phone whenever he picks up my mom’s cell. I’m not sure why that’s necessary, but he’s also the one who accidentally sent me a ladder last summer, so what else do you expect?)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

