How I Knew
March 17, 2008, 2:14 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

My dad asked me over the weekend how I knew Bear was “the one”. At first, I was shocked, because what a weird question? From my dad? Awkward turtle all over the place. Next, my first idea was “well, have you SEEN those blue eyes? Who WOULDN’T be in love with them?”

And while that might be an awfully big draw, the prettiest blue eyes in the world couldn’t attach me to a wife-beater.

I spent the train ride west rolling this question around under my tongue. It tasted metallic, a little hard to the touch.

This is what I came up with. These are my reasons, because if you asked me to name one, I wouldn’t know which one to pick.

1. I am shy. Being charming and sociable is an exhausting task with me. The way I can tell the people that I really like to be around, and that are my kind of people, is by gauging my level of exhaustion. If I have to work really hard, mentally and emotionally,they are not my kind of people. If I come away with more energy than before, then we are kindred spirits.  My mom is one of those people. A few choice friends are those people. Bear has never, not once, not ever, been anything but entirely comfortable to be around. He allows me to be myself in a way that no one else can.

2. He has a way of making me laugh so hard that it hurts. Cliche, I know, but whatever.

3.  He is passionate and dedicated. When he chooses to do something, he does so because he loves it and wants to do it. Then, he sees it through to the very end. He works hard at whatever it is, and does his best at it, whatever that may be. He did that with Boy Scouts, and became an Eagle Scout. He does that with school, and will be graduating with a bachelor’s in chemistry. He does that with drumline, and finished the season as squad leader and staff member. He does that with his friends. He does that with his family. That is a sign. A person’s behavior is a sign of their character. If he is dedicated to the other things in his life, he will continue the same with me. The most important thing to me is to be with someone who is dedicated.

That’s it. C’est le raison pour l’amore.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

